About the Club
The Club was founded in 1972 on Queen Mary Reservoir which was originally built between 1919 and 1924. We are very proud of our rich heritage as a top racing venue, the home of the iconic Bloody Mary as well as a friendly members Club with a firm place in the local community
We have developed a set of key principles which inform our day to day activities
The building of the reservoir
The plans for building the reservoir were originally concieved in 1912 when it was first thought that two would be built. These were subsequently altered with the bund (or baffle) put in place to promote water circulation from inlet to outlet. This measure was considered to be important to promote the purity of the water prior to the introduction of chlorination in 1916. The reservoir was completed on Dec 31st 1924 and opened by King George V on June 12th 1925.
It has a surface area of 704 acres and has a capacity of 6,700 million gallons. The length of the perimeter is just over four miles and the City of London could easily be accommodated in it.